The Faculty of health sciences was established in October 2012.

Health Science encompasses a variety of sub-disciplines, all of which relate to the application of science to health.

Because humans have always needed to deal with illness, it could be said that Health Science has existed for as long as humans have.

Health Sciences includes the study of Public Health, Medicine, Nursing, Medical Laboratory Technology, Pharmacy and etc.

Faculty of health sciences offers market-oriented academic programs at degree level.


The vision of the Faculty is the Puntland State University’s vision which is “to improve the life of Puntland and Somali people through the provision of sustainable education and skill-training policies with feasible education program development”.


The mission of the faculty is the PSU mission which is “to provide the best attainable, affordable, non-profit, world-standard sustainable higher education for all Somalis”.

Administrative Structures of the Faculty

The activities in the faculty of Health Sciences are coordinated by the Dean Mr. Mahamoud Mohamed Hussein assisted by lecturers.

The Faculty has one (1) department namely:

Expected Departments

  • Department of Medicine
  • Department of Medical Laboratory Sciences
  • Department of Nursing
  • Department of Pharmacy
  • Department of Environmental Health Science

9 Responses to Faculty of Health Sciences

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow us on Facebook
Our RecentTweets